I’d been teaching personal safety to victims of violence, schools and businesses since 1997. I formed my charity, The Scottish Centre for Personal Safety (check out our website http://www.ScotCPS.org.uk) in 2013.

My next step was to find a hall which would be big enough to run our personal safety, conflict resolution and practical self defence courses in; somewhere that would be within a short travelling distance from Glasgow (‘cos that’s where a lot of the violence is; somewhere that would benefit from having our Centre located there and ideally somewhere that was near to our client groups – Women’s Aid etc.

When I first heard that the former Barony St. John Church & Hall buildings in Ardrossan was for sale, I had no idea where Ardrossan was – but I knew an omen when I saw one …. I was living in the Scottish Highlands in a little village in the middle of nowhere called Ardross.

Now surely that’s got to be an omen – Ardross / Adrossan?

I had to find out more…..

