When I first arrived in Ardrossan to look at the church buildings, I bought a local newspaper – The Ardrossan & Saltcoats Herald – and I was surprised to see a reference to “SAS Explorer Scouts”.

sas-scouts

It turns out that this is the name given to the local venture scouts which combines “The Three Towns” – Saltcoats, Ardrossan & Stevenston or SAS for short.

Surely this was another omen?

You see, in my dim and distant past, I served with the British Army and spent some time seconded to a Special Air Service (SAS) unit.

sas-logo

Additionally, my not-for-profit training business prior to forming The Scottish Centre for Personal Safety charity was “Security And Safety” – often abbreviated to SAS.logo01

The amount of omens pushing me towards buying this church was becoming overwhelming. šŸ™‚

