As you no doubt know, I started this project of buying and renovating an old church so as to provide me with a building to run my charity (The Scottish Centre for Personal Safety) from (check our website http://www.ScotCPS.org.uk and our Facebook page http://www.facebook.com/ScotCPS/)

One of the benefits of having the hall ready is that I can now offer the services of the charity to victims of violence and vulnerable groups and individuals.

With this in mind, I approached various blind societies to see if they would like to offer personal safety to their members – and to help me develop a personal safety / self defence course for the blind and visually impaired.

Scottish War Blinded is a charity connected to several other charities for the blind including Royal Blind, Guide Dogs for the Blind and Visibility. Their members are based in Scotland and are all veterans. Some have blinded through service and some through old age.image

I took a trip over to their Centre – The Linburn Centre on the outskirts of Edinburgh – to speak with their members and to get an idea of what they could and, more importantly, could not do.

I was completely taken aback.

The members at Linburn are mainly elimagederly but despite being blind, they participate in various activities including shooting, woodwork and painting.

The shooting range has laser beams with audio cues which tell the firer how close they are to the target / bulls-eye.

The painting / artwork is amazing.

With only a small aspect of vision left, these members use magnifying glasses and place their heads inches from the canvas to “see” what they are painting – and yet they produce some fabulous artwork.

What do you think of these?

image image image imageimage

I feel honoured to have met these veterans and I’m delighted that they have agreed to help me develop Personal Safety course for the Blind and Visually Impaired. I’ll keep you posted as to my progress. 🙂

