I’m afraid I’m having to temporarily hand over the operation of the Barony St. John Centre to my Trustees, volunteers and instructors hiring the hall.

And the reason for this operation hand over?

Ironically, I’ve been in to get another operation on my hand.

You may remember I mentioned this time last year in my post Single Handed, I told you about my condition, Dupuytren’s Contracture, and how it causes my fingers to contract into a fist?

Well, this time my thumb had also to get operated on  – the operation involved pulling back the skin of the hand img_2464and exposing the tendons which then need to be scraped clean of the diseased tissue growing on them which causes the hand to contract – so if you’re squeamish you may want to skip reading the rest of this post……and definitely don’t look at the photos.

First of all, I’ve been unfortunate enough to have had two blood clots which have caused a blockage in my lungs. It’s all clear now but it makes me a “high risk” when it comes to operations so I have to be given tension stockings and special inflating boots during the operation to ensure my blood doesn’t clot while I’m under anesthetic.

Very fetching aren’t they? LOLimg_2463

Then the surgeon comes in to mark up what she is going to do – an arrow to ensure she gets the right hand, etc.

And now the fun begins!

Under general anesthetic she cuts open my hand to reveal all the internal working and goes to work freeing up my fingers and thumb.

She very kindly sent me a photo of what the operation will look like because I wasn’t allowed to take my camera into the operating theatre (it’s a sterile environment).

img_2453   img_2466

Two hours later and its all over.

Now I’m out of action for about four weeks while it heals and I eventually get the stitches out and the physio starts the painful road to recovery.

In the meantime, I cannot drive and have to stay with my parents to help with covering my arm up while I shower, etc.

Hopefully, I’ll be back at work reporting some good news (for a change) on the beautiful Victorian buildings that I’ve set my heart on saving.

I’ll leave you with this atmospheric photo of them and a reminder that every cloud must surely have a silver lining. 😀

img_2409

 

Until next time.

 

 

