img_2300

As I have previously mentioned, hidden behind an old cupboard in the Barony St. John’s main hall room was a pile of papers, books and memorabilia which dated back to the early 1900’s (some 1906, 1907, 1909, 1916, 1921, etc.)

In amongst this paperwork was a small card about 3″ x 2″.

It is pink in colour and displays the original name of the Barony St. John’s – the New Ardrossan Parish Church – and is some kind of admission ticket to the Sabbath School New Year’s Treat.

As it was with a similarly designed card which I’ve fairly conclusively dated back to 1916, I’m assuming that this card dates back to then too….

…..and so from the end of 1916 to the end of 2016, I wish you all a fabulous Hogmanay and a very Happy New Year when it comes.

I hope the next 100 years at the Barony St. John will be as exciting as the last.

Best wishes.

Alan – the Ardross-man

 

