You may remember I told you all about how the Great Western Railway ordered that all the different local times throughout the country, set by the sun, should be synchronised under a single standard time, “London time”, for their train timetables (see The Definition of Time post). This was back in 1840 and led to the standard Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) that we all know and use today.

Well, I was walking Ben in Saltcoats today and I noticed that they had a giant sundial on the harbour.

   

But what really interested me about the sundial was the plaque at it’s base. It read; 

Your watch tells you the legal time based on the Greenwich Meridian. This sundial shows Saltcoats own local time by the sun. 

It seems that people definitely felt aggrieved when local time was replaced by “London time” or “Greenwich time”.

I wonder how long there has been a sundial at Saltcoats harbour. (But I much prefer our clock tower at the Barony St John in Ardrossan. 🙂

